Everyone Says I’m Running Away

RUN DUDE. RUN

You might ask what I’m running away from with my travels. A few weeks ago, a friend told me to stop running away and live a life. I’m not sure why, but there is this perception out there that anyone who travels and isn’t interested in settling down or getting a conventional job must be running away from something.

AM I ESCAPING LIFE?

The general opinion is that traveling is something everyone should do. But for those of us who lead this particular lifestyle we are accused of running away. We must have awful, miserable lives, or are weird, or have had something traumatic happen to us that we are trying to escape.

For me, personally, it usually refers to my old times when at the age of 21, I moved on Magnus II with my father, in one of the most peripheral area of the city of Newcastle, called “Tasky Shore” and then I had to get rid of all what I’ve done to survive. Well, the answer to this is just one: NO.

I did not chose to leav and start traveling the ‘Verse for that. People tend to assume that I’m simply running away from my problems, running away from the real world. Well, that’s not true. Or, in other words…

Yes, I am running away. But I’m running away from your idea of the real world. I’m avoiding a life like yours, like the one you’ve ever lived and will always live. Instead, I’m running towards everything, towards the ‘Verse. Exotic planets, new people, different cultures, and my own idea of freedom.

THE TRUE VALUE OF TRAVELING

While there may be exceptions, most people who become traveler do so because they want to experience the ‘Verse, not escape problems. I’m running away from a well established business life (remember my BANTAM CONSULTING, right?) and running toward everything the ‘Verse has to offer. You and I want to experience every culture, see every planet, eat weird food, attend crazy festivals and convention, meet new people, and enjoy different places around the ‘Verse.

Life is short, and we only get to live it once (maybe). I want to look back and say I did crazy things, not say I spent my life reading blogs like this while wishing I was doing the same thing.

OF RIGHT AND WRONG

I feel like the reason why people tell us we are running away is because they can’t fathom the fact that we broke the mold and are living outside the norm. To want to break all of society’s conventions, there simply must be something wrong with us, right?

Wrong.

Life is what you make it out to be. Life is yours to create. We are all chained down by the burdens we place upon ourselves, whether they are bills, errands, or, like me, self-imposed blogging deadlines. If you really want something, you have to go after it.

People like me who travel the ‘Verse aren’t running away from life. Just the opposite. Those that break the mold, explore the Galaxy, and live on their own terms are running toward true living.

Right. I’m not running away.

Right. I am running towards the ‘Verse and my idea of life.

And I’ll never look back. Never.

Right.

Leave a Reply

